The main programme of the festival consists of a competition for which professional and non-professional filmmakers from all over the world can enter.

The best films will be selected by a selection committee and will be viewed during the festival. During the closing ceremony a professional jury will announce which films will be awarded. WFFR offers awards in the following categories.

1. ASN Awareness Award
2. Best Film Professional
3. Best Film Non-Professional
4. Environmental/Sustainability Award
5. Newcomer Award
6. Underwater Award
7. Virtual Reality Award

In addition to the awards attributed by the jury, an audience award will also be awarded to the most popular film chosen by the general public in the professional and the non-professional category.

Award Winners WFFR 2015

Best Film Professional: The Bat Man of Mexico
Best Film Non-Professional: The Wild Wet
Awareness Award: DamNation
Public Award Professional: De IJsvogel
Public Award Non-Professional: A Leap of Frog

Award Winners WFFR 2016

Best film Professional: David Attenborough’s Light on Earth
Best film Non-professional: The Pray
Public Award Professional: The Hunt – Hunger at Sea
Public Award Non-professional: Amsterdam Wildlife
WFFR Underwater Award: The Hunt – Hunger at Sea
WFFR Environmental/Sustainability Award: Ethiopia Rising
WFFR Awareness Award: The Messenger